The Movie

Almost two years without you Steven and I still can’t get used to being a widow. It feels so foreign to me. I hear the word widow it’s like the talking about some other Martha I don’t know.

It’s how it begins.

I decided to write in English this time because of the subject:

R u g g e d   G o l d 

Directed by Michael Anderson; Canada, New Zealand, 1994.

The movie of my life.

The story brings us from a city of 1954 to Alaska where well brought up beautiful Martha remarried to Don Martin – a gold miner, struggles against wilderness of nature gradually accepting her own role in it.

Unexpected loneliness, injury, wild animals, keeping home heated, yearning in silent whiteness and finally a delivery of a child are to be faced by her as dramatic gifts from rough yet beautiful life. It’s Martha’s personality and attitude along with her and Don’s love, love to children as well, that make the story irresistibly powerful to me.

INSPIRED BY A TRUE STORY

This VHS comes from our family or friends in USA – I don’t clearly recall today. As a girl not understanding its dialogues too well I had been into it anyway. It has been calling up my younger years.

Some time ago thanks to my friend I received a book, the diary of Martha Martin, which had become the base for the film adaptation.

GOLDEN CAPTIVATION

It remains the very thing I turn to after coming back home from different places of my adult life. First I check up the night sky if it is still full of stars to sooner or later put on at least a bit of Rugged Gold. Feels like northern lights of storytelling to me.

STARRING

Jill Eikenberry as Martha Martin, Art Hindle as Don Martin, Ari Magder as Lloyd Henderson, Matha’s son from her marriage with Steven, Graham Green as Samuel Smith, Don’s partner in Alaska, Davina Whitehouse as Grandmother Kitteridge encouraging Martha to leave what she knew well and head to Alaska with Don and Lloyd, Tony Groser as Steven Henderson Senior, father in law for Martha and grandfather of Lloyd, June Bishop as Evelyn Henderson – wife of Steven Senior, mother of late Steven (Junior), grandmother of Lloyd.

The heart of the women entrusted first to a beloved aviator, tossed by his death onto rocks of widowhood and missing, won over again – trying to crate a real home for the closest ones undergoing true distress and giving both unique shapes. The heart of the man of action fighting for who he loves and has become responsible for. The joys and burdens of family life covered through script, actors’ play, scenery, action – simply, Rugged Gold.

True story, true love, true power of humanity.

May this be my tribute to it.

 ♥

6 thoughts on “The Movie

  1. Pingback: Feel invited | Le mois des mirabelles

    • I see where you come from, bunny48. Myself, I don’t either but I hope someone someday will bennefit from it :) Thank you, you inspire me. I live in former capital of Poland at the moment – Cracow, city of kings with great history. Was not thinking of writing about it, coz there is plenty of material on the subject but you inspired me. I am by no means a jounalist nor any professional of that kind but I may try to share things around me. Take care, dear.

      Lubię to

      • Not a journalist? Oh but you Are. You have a Blog and you write on WordPress. Is WordPress not a Journal? What were you going to use your WordPress Blog for? I just thought learning about your city would be interesting. I read a lot of books about the Holocaust and Cracow is mentioned a lot. I was thinking about hearing about it from your eyes. Not from History books. It was just a topic idea only. I read your topics in English. I ask for more. I cannot read Polish nor any other language. I’m sure you are very talented in writing.

        Lubię to

      • Thank you for your view. Holocaust – yes – not further than yesterday we had an anniversary of things that happened in getto. Cracow was mentioned a lot because Germans were concentating people here before extermination. I believe they forced around 17000 people to live on the forced and fenced area inhabited by around 3500 people before. I actualy visited Schindler’s Factory last year. I will try to continue to be a journalist then :)

        Lubię to

  2. Pingback: “Spring has finally come” | Le mois des mirabelles

Zapraszam do wyrażenia swojej opinii. Podpis jest dowolny. E-mail, Signature, Website are optional. Dziękuję za odwiedzenie mojego bloga. Thank you for visiting my blog.

